Alex in Transit(ion)

A great WordPress.com site

moving to Montreal

Leave a comment

No. I’m not doing it. Although something tells me it wouldn’t surprise anyone if I said “Hey, guess what I’m doing now?”

I just hate how as much as I love the city and would love to settle my roots there, it is something that will never happen because of visas, dealing with immigration, and all that jazz. But I guess, where there is a will, there is a way. I really want to get up there to visit in the next year and take a bike tour of the city again. 

Today is one of those days where I miss my family and friends like crazy. I was scrolling through my Instagram feed and my cousin posted pictures of my father and my nonno. I then saw that my mother posted pictures of my little brother and I couldn’t believe how tall he is getting. It hit me that no longer is he a toddler but he’s now a young boy who’s getting ready to go to kindergarten soon. Isn’t it crazy how they grow up so fast? 

A couple of days ago, I stumbled upon this post by Elizabeth from Delightfully Tacky, and it touched upon feelings that I related to. She wrote about how grounding it is when you get to talk to a loved one who is far away from you, especially when you don’t know many people in your town. Don’t get me wrong, I love meeting new friends, and one of the things I love about my lifestyle is that it has given me the opportunity to attain lifelong friendships but it gets hard when you’re the only person you know in your new town. However, this feeling isn’t foreign and no matter what, I always get through it and have the best stories to share afterwards. 

Author: Alex

Hello! My name is Alex but you can call me Alexandra if you're feeling fancy. Here you'll find my adventures about exploring my new city of Hoboken, NJ, scurrying over the Hudson River to NYC, my bicycle excursions, and how I'm learning to embrace in medias res.

Leave a Reply

