Alex in Transit(ion)

A great WordPress.com site

nesting: living in a residence hall in your mid-twenties.

Leave a comment

I will preface this post with this piece of advice:

Never, ever, ever watch Investigation Discovery in the wee, small hours of the morning for the chance that the program’s background music may sound eerily just like your door bell and you may receive a tiny burst of adrenaline to prepare for the worst. Not fun. It kind of makes you feel silly afterwards when you realize it’s not the real thing.

Moving on…

My Room

I received my rooming assignment! It’s so funny because after 3 years of either paying for my own apartment or living with host families whenever a job assignment came up, it feels weird knowing that I will be living in a residence hall. The days of RAs, Twin XL beds, swiping your ID to get into the building, and waking up to the fire alarm because someone failed at properly making popcorn at 2 AM are back again. I swear, along with your college application, I am a firm believer that you should prove to the admissions board that you are capable of making popcorn without setting the stage up for a fire drill.

Of course, I’ve received a lot of mixed reviews about my choice to live on campus and I get it. I’m 25 going on 26 (my twenties are disappearing right before my eyes) and I’m still receiving e-mails about whether or not I’d like to purchase a meal plan. I’m very satisfied with my choice. One of the reasons why I love my campus is because it’s laid out within the city of Newark and we have a light rail station on campus. You can’t ask for better than that, especially in the NYC Metro real estate market. I will be paying $850 for my grad single which is comparable to a 1 bedroom in Newark. I don’t need to worry about homeless guys living in the laundry room or dealing with negligent landlords anymore, so I am a happy camper.

Twin XL Sheets…It’s a Bigger Deal Than You Would Think

disclaimer: I realize that out of all the problems to have, this is probably the best one. A couple of months ago, I would have done anything for this as my only worry. We all have creature comforts and this is one of mine.

One tip I would give to anyone attending college or graduate school and is planning to live on campus is to buy your sheets in August. If you attempt to buy them in January, plan on having a frustrating shopping experience. As opposed to August, the selection of Twin XL sheets is very limited in January. When I was in college, I bought my sheets at Home Goods and Target because I’d get comfy sheets for anywhere between $9-$12. Don’t plan on getting those kinds of deals in January. The reason why they’re so cheap in August is because all of the stores are competing for your business. In January, it’s more like “take it or leave it.” To make things harder, most stores don’t have them in stock anymore (aw, Home Goods), so you will have to go online.  While shopping online saves a lot of time and gives you more of a selection, I’ve always felt that purchasing sheets needs to be a tactile experience. There were some great deals on microfiber sheets but I wasn’t sure about how they felt, so I passed them over for jersey sheets. The jersey sheets were more expensive ($22 a pair…gah, this would never happen in August), but I know what kind of product I’m getting and that will mean a lot when I pass out in my bed after taking my midterms.

Food and Life On-Campus 

Other than that, I’ve got to say that it is weird knowing that I don’t need to bring furniture! Everything is already there and all I need to worry about is making sure I only cover 25% of my wall with decorations. I’m also extremely excited about having the gym so close! I can’t wait to get back to how it was when I was an undergrad where I would do cardio and weight training during the weekdays and swim on the weekends…I haven’t done that in sooooo long! I made an attempt to do that in Florida but eventually work got in the way of beach or pool time.

There won’t be a meal plan for me. I realized a long time ago that while it is convenient, it is the biggest waste of money and you’re better off making your own food. I will be going back to  being a pescatarian. It’s cheaper that way and I am so excited to return back to the lifestyle again. If you haven’t cut out meat for at least a week, I recommend that you do. It’s hard at first, especially if you make my mistake and forget to take a multivitamin when you start out, but it’s so worth it. I receive more nutrients in my vegetarian meals than I do with my meat meals and you’ll notice that once your body gets over the transition, it feels great. I only went back to being a carnivore because I had no idea how to maintain a vegetarian diet during my job assignment.

Well, it looks like it’s time to start packing and prepare a grocery list! Next Sunday is going to be here before I know it.

Author: Alex

Hello! My name is Alex but you can call me Alexandra if you're feeling fancy. Here you'll find my adventures about exploring my new city of Hoboken, NJ, scurrying over the Hudson River to NYC, my bicycle excursions, and how I'm learning to embrace in medias res.

Leave a Reply

