Alex in Transit(ion)

A great WordPress.com site

mangia: a grocery list for a grad school budget

Leave a comment

I don’t have a theme for this week. All I know is that this is a very exciting week because I’m making bread for the first time! I’ve been eating eggs, vegetables, and yogurt for these past weeks and I’m really craving something baked for breakfast but I don’t have the time to make pancakes everyday. Sad face. But this recipe for Apple and Cheddar Bread looks like it will hit the spot! If this goes well, I think I will make it a habit to bake breakfast breads every week! Ah man, breakfast bread, egg over easy, and a potato hash? A girl’s gotta do what a girl’s gotta do! I am also baking a cake this week too. I’ve been taking too much advantage of the vending machine and if I’m going to cave in…I might as well cave into something that is homemade. I was thinking about just buying chips to curb my craving but even though my mouth is watering for a big package of Salt and Vinegar chips, I guarantee you that bag will be gone within a day or two. With cake, I can have one slice and be absolutely satisfied.

Here are my recipes:

Breakfast: Apple and Cheddar Quick Bread 

Side Dish: Spicy Spinach and Chickpeas (sounds bland but looks amazing)

Entrees: Butternut Squash Chipotle Chili with Avocado

Black Bean Enchiladas with Roasted Red Pepper Sauce

Roasted Red Pepper Pesto Linguine with Kale and Feta

Dessert: Simple Chocolate Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

Beat that, student dining hall. Also, I cannot wait until I am DONE with stocking up the pantry. Seeing all of these necessary oils, flour, and sugars makes my wallet hurt. I am envious of my mother’s pantry right now. However, once it’s stocked, I’m good to go until I run out of something.

The List:

  • 6 Red Peppers (all of my recipes call for roasted red peppers in a can. We Italians don’t play that way. We roast our own.)
  • 12 Sundried Tomatoes
  • Walnuts
  • Kale
  • Feta
  • Linguine
  • 2 bags of Spinach
  • Lemon Juice
  • Red Wine Vinegar
  • 14 oz. diced tomatoes and 1/2 cup tomato sauce. I’ll figure out what to do when I get to the sauce aisle.
  • 2 onions
  • can of corn
  • 1 tortilla package
  • Cilantro
  • 2 Tomatillos
  • 1 Jalapeno
  • 4 Avocados
  • 1 Red Onion
  • 1 Butternut Squash
  • 2 Cans of Black Beans
  • 1 Can of Broth
  • Flour
  • Baking Powder
  • Baking Soda
  • Lactaid
  • Canola Oil
  • Grated Sharp Cheddar Cheese
  • Brown Sugar
  • 6 Apples
  • Cooking Spray
  • Vanilla Extract
  • Instant Coffee
  • Cocoa Powder
  • Cream Cheese
  • Margarine
  • 16 oz. powdered sugar
  • Orange Juice
Author: Alex

Hello! My name is Alex but you can call me Alexandra if you're feeling fancy. Here you'll find my adventures about exploring my new city of Hoboken, NJ, scurrying over the Hudson River to NYC, my bicycle excursions, and how I'm learning to embrace in medias res.

Leave a Reply

