Alex in Transit(ion)

A great WordPress.com site

eggs and public administration.

Leave a comment

Nah, I haven’t run out of material. There are enough ideas spinning around in this mind o’mine that if I could, I’d write for days upon days and month after month.

But last night, after watching a fabulous episode of Saturday Night Live (Christoph Waltz is the sexiest man alive), I was hungry and I had to figure out how I was going to raid the fridge. In my Intro to Public Administration class, we’re learning about decision making, One way to see if you’re making the best decision is to create a balance sheet, where you outline your desires and their respective pluses and deltas. Also, I needed to consider the opportunity cost, which is comparing the values of competing decisions. I thought these would be excellent ways to solve this 1:00 AM problem.

Situation: I am hungry. It is 1 AM.

Remedy: Eat something.

Situation: What should I eat?

Remedy 1: Eat some of your awesome apple and cheddar bread!

  • Plus: It is satisfying and yummy.
  • Delta: Dude. You ate cake today. And ate pasta for lunch. You worked out. How about we pack some more carbs and throw that hour in the gym away?

Remedy 2: Eat scrambled eggs with Frank’s Red Hot on top

  • Plus: It’s easy to make and Frank’s Red Hot pretty much makes everything better. An egg is full of protein and has very little fat so that hour in the gym won’t be wasted!
  • Delta: This requires using a pan and a mixing bowl. I’m going to need to wash those in the morning.

Eggs won out. When figuring out the opportunity cost, it was clear to me that even though my homemade bread is tasty and won’t require me to do dishes in the morning, I couldn’t shake the fact that I worked out today. Therefore, I should eat the food that won’t mess up my goal to attain a perfect summer body.

And that, my friends, shows you that I have already spent too much time in school.

Author: Alex

Hello! My name is Alex but you can call me Alexandra if you're feeling fancy. Here you'll find my adventures about exploring my new city of Hoboken, NJ, scurrying over the Hudson River to NYC, my bicycle excursions, and how I'm learning to embrace in medias res.

Leave a Reply

