Alex in Transit(ion)

A great WordPress.com site

Goodbye Darth Vader.

Leave a comment

I can’t remember the last time I took a legitimate sick day from work. Maybe when I got my wisdom teeth out in 2012? Even though so much of me is saying to myself, “you know, you can sort of breath right now without sounding like a Darth Vader wannabe,” I am letting myself rest. I’m still trying to figure out if skipping class is something I should do or not but wow. It feels so good to finally relax. My yoga teacher was talking about that the other week. She said how she was always on and when she was feeling sick, she was fighting it and continuing on with her routine, which is what I was doing last week. It then became apparent to her, as it did to me, that it’s time to accept the fact that you’re sick. You may hate every single moment of your sinuses flaring up, wondering how the human body can become such a vehicle for disease, how you’re missing yoga, how you can’t train for your race next weekend, and you can’t focus on your homework.

But it’s what happening at the moment. And it may be inconvenient, but then you get to today, and you’re not reaching out for the tissues every two seconds. You’re starting to find the strength to clean up your room, which currently feels like it’s overrun with germs. And that homework? Well, it’s going to be done as soon as you clean your room. Sometimes you just have to get through the bad things to finally get to the good again.

 

Author: Alex

Hello! My name is Alex but you can call me Alexandra if you're feeling fancy. Here you'll find my adventures about exploring my new city of Hoboken, NJ, scurrying over the Hudson River to NYC, my bicycle excursions, and how I'm learning to embrace in medias res.

Leave a Reply

